How to compare finance automation platforms on accuracy and compliance: what each accuracy claim measures, SOC and ISO attestations, and audit trails.

Most finance automation vendors publish an accuracy number that best fits their agenda, and a lot of those numbers sit in the high 90s. The trouble is that they rarely measure the same thing, across businesses. One vendor's 98% is the share of bank transactions matched automatically. Another's 97% is field-level extraction accuracy on invoices. A third reports how many payments posted without a person touching them. Side by side they look comparable above the 95th percentiles. But they actually aren't, in any real measure of outcome.
Compliance has the same problem in a different form. A SOC 2 report says something about how a vendor runs its own systems. It says much less about whether the agent processing your invoices left evidence your auditor will accept.
This guide explains how to read both kinds of claims, then lays out what ten platforms publicly state. For a broader view of which platforms cover which finance jobs, see best AI platforms for finance operations. For the close specifically, see month-end close automation tools.
The word covers at least four different measurements.
Extraction accuracy is how often the system reads a field correctly from a document, such as an invoice number, an amount or a due date. It's the easiest number to make look good, since most fields on most invoices are structured according to a template and are easy to read.
Coding accuracy is how often the system assigns the right GL account, cost center or tax code. This is harder, because the right answer depends on your charter of accounts and your policies as well as what is printed on the page. If extraction accuracy was broken to begin with, this step makes no sense.
Match rate is the share of transactions paired automatically with a counterpart: a bank line with a GL entry, a payment with an open invoice, an invoice with a PO and receipt. A high match rate can hide wrong matches unless someone samples the exact matched population.
Touchless or straight-through processing (STP) rate is the share of items that finish with no human action at all. It mixes accuracy with policy, since a cautious configuration routes more items to people on purpose.
A platform with 99% extraction accuracy can still produce a 60% touchless rate if coding and exceptions are weak. A platform that sends a third of cases to review can be the safer choice if every case it does complete is right.
Ask what the denominator is.
"Up to 98%" usually describes the best customers, not the median.
Ask how long after go-live the number was measured.
Several vendors report a lower figure for new deployments and a higher one after months of learning from corrections.
Ask who decided a task/activity was correct.
A figure measured against later human review is stronger than one that counts anything nobody corrected as right.
Ask what happens to the items the system is unsure about.
A platform that escalates low-confidence cases protects you from its own errors. One that guesses produces a higher STP rate but creates cleanup overhead on the user.
SOC 1 Type II covers controls relevant to your financial reporting. If a platform touches transactions that end up in your financial statements, your auditors will usually want this report, plus a bridge letter covering any gap since the report period ended.
SOC 2 Type II covers security, availability, confidentiality and related controls over a period of time, usually six to twelve months. Type I only covers a single point in time.
ISO 27001 certifies the vendor's information security management system. ISO 27701 extends it to privacy, and ISO 42001 covers AI management systems.
None of these tells you whether a specific automated decision can be reconstructed later. For that, you need to check the product itself: does each action record the inputs, the rule or policy applied, the approval state and the result? Can preparing, approving and posting stay with different identities so segregation of duties holds? Where do logs and data physically live, and can that location be chosen for data residency reasons?
Accuracy figures below are vendor-reported, taken from each vendor's own pages, and measure different things. Attestations are listed as each vendor describes them publicly. Ask for the current reports under NDA before relying on any of them.
Vendor | Accuracy claim (vendor-reported) | What the figure measures | Published attestations |
|---|---|---|---|
BlackLine | Customer story: "from manual matching to 99.6% automation" (Beauty Pie) | Transaction matching automation for one customer | SOC 1 Type 2, SOC 2 Type 2, ISO 27001, 27017, 27018, 27701 (BlackLine) |
FloQast | Auto-matches "up to 98%" of transactions (FloQast) | Reconciliation match rate, best case | SOC reports, SOC 3, ISO 27001, 27701 and 42001 (FloQast) |
HighRadius | "90%+ straight through cash posting" (HighRadius) | Cash application touchless rate | SOC 1 Type 2, SOC 2 Type 2, ISO 27001 (HighRadius trust center) |
Vic.ai | 97% out of the box, 99% within six months; 85% no-touch (Vic.ai) | Invoice processing accuracy, plus a separate no-touch rate | SOC 2 (Vic.ai) |
Stampli | No headline accuracy figure; its assistant suggests coding and approvers for the AP team to validate (Stampli) | Not stated | SOC 1, 2 and 3; PCI DSS (Stampli) |
Tipalti | No headline AI accuracy figure found | Not stated | SOC 1 and SOC 2 Type II under ISAE 3402 and 3000 (Tipalti) |
Ramp | No headline accuracy figure found | Not stated | Annual ISO 27001, SOC 1, SOC 2 and PCI audits (Ramp) |
Kognitos | No headline accuracy figure found | Not stated | SOC 2 Type II (Kognitos) |
UiPath | Platform vendor; accuracy depends on the automation built | Not applicable | SOC 2 Type 2 for Automation Cloud, ISO 27001 (UiPath) |
Zamp | Per deployment: more than 95% browser-agent accuracy in a freight deployment; decision rate rose from 36% to 85% in a procurement deployment (freight, procurement) | Accuracy and decision rate for specific customer workflows | No certifications stated in its published posts; publishes a decision-level audit trail model (trust and security) |
The table works better as a set of questions to ask than as a ranking. FloQast's 98% and HighRadius's 90% measure different jobs. Vic.ai publishes two different figures, an accuracy rate and a no-touch rate, which is more useful than one blended number. Zamp reports results per deployment, with the starting point included, rather than a single platform-wide figure.
Zamp's published approach treats escalation as part of accuracy. In the procurement deployment, the agent sent 64% of purchase requests to manual review in its first week rather than guessing on cases it wasn't sure about. After the team rebuilt how it worked through procurement rules, using every case where the agent and the reviewer disagreed, the decision rate rose to 85% and manual review fell to 15%.
On evidence, each action an AI employee takes produces a log entry with the input, the sources consulted, the action, the result, the approval state and any correction history, according to Zamp's trust and security overview. In that same procurement deployment, the agent writes its reasoning for each decision inside SAP Ariba, so reviewers read it in the system of record. In the freight deployment, every portal interaction is recorded as a timestamped session video.
Each AI employee has its own identity with least-privilege access, and preparing, approving, posting and releasing funds can stay separate, as set out in AI for finance operations. Zamp deploys as multi-tenant SaaS, in a customer's own cloud or on-premises, which changes where data and logs live.
We do not publish our SOC or ISO certifications openly, so ask for it directly during the demo, as you would with any vendor.


